The Copeland Post

worth reading.

American Airlines seriously neglects the MD-80 August 24, 2008

Filed under: general rants — doctortre @ 06:11
Tags: , ,

As both a former FA, and someone who now flies American more than Delta now that I live on the West Coast – I have to say that what American has done lately, and the current trends in the airline industry are truly upsetting.

The way that we fly now is totally different. I can remember (and it wasn’t that long ago) that flying used to be tolerable – even enjoyable. I could go on and on, and most likely will but in another post.

The real tragedy is the treatment of the MD-80. Anyone that knows me understands that I’m and airliner nut. The DC-9, the MD-80’s predecessor, along with the 727 are very special to me. My first flight was on a DC-9, I worked on them with Northwest, and most likely flew on them every trip I made departing or arriving at smaller airports in the South. 

American is the largest operator of this aircraft type and most of their frames are between 15-20 years old. They have seriously neglected the maintenance of this aircraft, as evidence by the FAA- forced grounding earlier this year that disrupted operations for American and Delta, and this current story:

I think for the sake of safety, I’ll stay off these planes for a while. A shame – since I have a ton of AAdvantage miles.

 

One Response to “American Airlines seriously neglects the MD-80”

  1. Even just 15 minutes a day keeps your piano playing ability in tune.
    Instead, focus on a single thing or just a couple of things, and try not to move forward until you have reached those goals.

    These hail every little thing played getting rid of barely the
    sophisticated keys, so you ought to keep effective toward
    crush extra listed below barely a limited area of time.


Leave a Reply

